Schedules of the Indian Constitution

Originally, Indian Constitution had eight Schedules, but later four Schedules were added to it by different amendments. The Ninth Schedule was added by the 1st Amendment Act (1951), 10th Schedule was added by 35th Amendment Act (1974) terminating the protectorate status of Sikkim and conferring on it the status of an associate state of the Indian Union, 52nd Amendment Act (1985) added the Anti-Defection Law to the 10th Schedule.

Following are the twelve Schedules of the Indian Constitution:


NumbersSubject MatterArticles Covered
First schedule1. Names of states and their territorial     jurisdiction

2. Names of the Union Territories and their extent

Articles 1 and 4
Second scheduleProvisions relating to the emoluments, privileges and allowances of:

1. President of India

2. Governors of state

3. Speaker and deputy speaker of Lok Sabha

4. Chairman and deputy chairman of Rajya Sabha

5. Speaker and deputy speaker of the legislative assembly in the states

6. Chairman and deputy chairman of the legislative councils in the states

7. Judges of the supreme court

8. Judges of the high court

9. Comptroller and Auditor General of India

Articles 59,65, 75, 97,125,148,158,164,186 and 221
Third scheduleForms of oaths or affirmations for:

1. Union Ministers

2. Candidates for election to the Parliament

3. Members of Parliament

4. Judges of the Supreme Court

5. The Comptroller and Auditor-General of India

6. State ministers

7. Candidates for election to the state legislature

8. Members of the state legislature

9. Judges of the high court

Articles 75,84,99,124,146,173,188 and 219
Fourth scheduleAllocation of seats in the Rajya Sabha to the states and the union territories.Articles 4 and 80
Fifth scheduleProvisions relating to the administration and control of scheduled areas and scheduled tribes.Article 244
Sixth scheduleProvisions relating to the administration of tribal areas in the states of Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura and Mizoram.Articles 244 and 275
Seventh scheduleDivision of powers between the union and the states in terms of List I (Union List) with 100 subjects, List II (State list) with 61 subjects and List III (Concurrent List) with 52 subjects.Article 246
Eighth scheduleLanguages recognized by the constitution. Presently, it has 22 languages.Articles 344 and 351
Ninth scheduleActs and regulations of the state legislatures dealing with land reforms and abolition of the zamindari system and of the parliament dealing with other matters.Article 31-B
Tenth scheduleProvisions relating to the disqualification of the members of Parliament and state legislature on the ground of defection. This was added by 52nd amendment act of 1985, and is also known as Anti-Defection Law.Articles 102 and 191
Eleventh SchedulePowers and functions of the Panchayats. This was added by 73rd amendment act of 1992.Article 243-G
Twelfth schedulePowers and functions of the Municipalities. This was added by 74th amendment act of 1992.Article 243-W

1 Comment
  1. […] sources: Schedules of the Indian Constitution, Emergency […]

    Leave a reply

    Reset Password