National Bravery Awards (1947- present)

In the year 1957, Harish Chandra Mehra, a 14-year old scout acted courageously to save Jawaharlal Nehru from a burning tent at Ramlila grounds (New Delhi). For his presence of mind and conspicuous act of bravery in the face of danger, he was awarded by the Government of India and that award led to the foundation of the National Bravery Awards.

About the Awards:

ِ ► The National Bravery Award was instituted by the Indian Council for Child Welfare (ICCW) IN 1957 to give due recognition to the children who distinguish themselves by performing outstanding deeds of bravery and meritorious service and to inspire other children to emulate their example.

National Bravery Award
Harish Chandra receiving National Bravery Award from Jawaharlal Nehru

► The awards are announced on Children’s Day (14 November) and later presented by the prime minister on the eve of the Republic Day (26 January).

► In 1987-88 ICCW instituted the Bharat Award for an exceptionally outstanding, meritorious and gallant deed.

► The Sanjay Chopra Award and the Geeta Chopra Award were established in 1978, in memory of two Chopra children who lost their lives while confronting their kidnappers.

► The Bapu Gaidhani Awards were instituted in 1988-89.


► The applicant should not be below 6 years of age and above 18 years of age on the date of the incident.

Application Procedure:

► The application should be recommended by two of the listed Competent Authorities.

► The application form is to be accompanied by a write-up of about 250 words giving the details of the deed performed by the applicant, proof of date of birth, Newspaper/Magazine clippings and/or the First Information Report (FIR) or Police Diary filed with the Police Station.

► The account of the incident as well as the supporting documents should preferably be endorsed by two of the listed Competent Authorities.

Selection Procedure:

ِ ► The selection is made by a committee constituted by ICCW.

► Applications once rejected for whatever reason are not be considered again.

► The Selection Committee is empowered to consider the relaxation of any of the conditions/rules if it so deems fit.

Learn more about CAB 2020(Citizenship Amendment Bill)

For more updated content related to Current Affairs, History, Polity, Geography, Economics, Mathematics and General Sciences for various competitive examinations, follow us on

1 Comment
  1. […] sources: National Bravery Awards (1947- present), Article 29-30: Foundation of the Most Important Cultural and Educational Rights of […]

    Leave a reply

    Reset Password